Answered! If I Delete Photos from iPhone, Is It Deleted from iCloud?
If I delete photos from my iPhone, is it deleted from iCloud? This is the most common question asked by iPhone users, and the answer is Yes. When you delete your images from Photo Apps, they are deleted from iCloud. But you can recover them within 30 days; otherwise, they are permanently deleted. Read the blog to find out how you can backup photos and protect your data.
- Part 1: If I Delete Photos from iPhone, Is It Deleted from iCloud?
- Part 2: How Do I Delete Photos from iPhone But Keep Them in iCloud?
- Part 3: Best Ways to Backup iPhone Photo Other Than iCloud
Part 1: If I Delete Photos from iPhone, Is It Deleted from iCloud?
Apple is very concerned about its features, but it doesn’t have explained the iCloud photo library function well to the users. The most recent question users ask is if deleting images from iPhone delete them from iCloud as well. The answer is YES. Deleting the images from iPhone will delete them from iCloud storage. But the good news is that you can recover them within 30 days.
If you are wondering how to delete photos from your iPhone without deleting them from iCloud, this article will definitely help you in providing proper guidance. Continue reading to find out the process.
Part 2: How Do I Delete Photos from iPhone But Keep Them in iCloud?
How do I delete photos from my iPhone but keep them in iCloud? You can do it easily by disabling the iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream feature. My Photo Stream can upload around 1000 images within 30 days that means it’s a good way to keep your images safe. But in case you want to delete images from your iPhone, turn off the My Photo Stream option. You can easily turn off the option from the app’s Settings. Also, don’t forget to disable the iCloud option too.
If you want to backup iPhone photos other than iCloud, we have mentioned some effective methods for you.
Part 3: Best Ways to Backup iPhone Photo Other Than iCloud
If you delete photos from your iPhone, they are still available on iCloud for 30 days, but you have to recover them within the time; otherwise, they will be deleted permanently. If you are worried about the data loss, we have mentioned some ways that you can use to backup iPhone photos with fewer efforts.
Way 1: Free to Backup iPhone with Tenorshare iCareFone
iCareFone backup function helps to back up data from iPad, iPhone and iPod. This feature is for those who want to secure their files from data loss. It's the best choice for all iPhone users and also makes sure that all the files are readable and accessible on PC. So, if you want to backup your iPhone, we recommend following the steps below.
Download the program from the Tenorshare official website. Once you have the setup, install it and run it on your PC. Make sure that your iPhone is connected with the PC if you want to continue the process.
After the device is connected, you will see several options on the screen. Select “Backup & Restore” from the menu. You will see different files on the screen, and all of them will be selected by default. So, make sure to choose the files that you want to backup and select the “Backup” option.
The process will take a few seconds or minutes, depending on the file size. You can also select “View Backup Data” or “View Backup List” to see the files.
This process is simple and won’t take a lot of time. However, if you don’t want to use a third-party app, you can try using Google Photos.
Way 2: Backup iPhone Photos to Google Photos
Google Photos is used by many people worldwide because it's the simplest way to organize and share your videos, images, and much more. Besides using it, you can backup your important data. The tool doesn’t require much space and helps to backup files without any hassle. If you don't want to use iCloud, we recommend using Google Photos because here, you will keep your data secure for a longer time.
Below are the steps that you can follow to backup iPhone photos to Google Photos.
- Launch the Google Photos application on your iPhone.
- Now, sign to your Google Account and tap your profile photo.
Click the Photos Settings. You will find the "Back up & sync" option; click it.
- Now turn on the option, so it can back up your files. Or you can simply click Privacy > Photos. You can also check your backup settings and change them as well.
FAQs about iPhone Delete Photos
Q1. Where do permanently deleted photos go?
When you delete images or videos, they go to the Recently Deleted album for 30 days. That means you can recover them within 30 days, and once the time is over, they are deleted permanently.
Q2. Does iCloud Save Photos Forever?
No, it doesn’t save photos forever because images will stay there for 30 days. During this time, you can easily backup the images. However, keep in mind that after 30 days, images will be removed forever.
Q3. Will Resetting iPhone Delete Photos from iCloud?
No, factory resetting your device will not delete content from iCloud. That is the reason many people backup files using iCloud. But if you want to be on the safe side, make sure to create several backup files, so you don't have to face any issues. You can also create a backup file using iTunes.
This blog was all about deleting photos from iPhone but keeping on iCloud. You don’t have to follow complicated steps if you want to delete the images from your device without affecting iCloud. However, if you plan to use an application for backup, you can try iCareFone, a user-friendly application from Tenorshare. It allows you to import, export, add, delete and backup & restore files. Plus, it doesn't require any technical skills, and anyone can use it without facing any issues.