One of the favorite security features of iOS is Find My iPhone. This feature will track the whereabouts of iOS devices under the same iTunes account. There are countless stories on the net telling how this feature helped users find their missing or stolen iPhones and iPads. There are even stories of how it helped the authorities rescue kidnapped victim, recover stolen car, and find a missing person on car accident.
Even though this feature is handy and no iOS users should use their devices without activating it, there are times when you need to turn off the feature. And sometimes, you need to do it remotely because you don’t have physical access to the devices.
How do you turn off Find My iPhone remotely?
The main reason why you would want to turn off Find My iPhone on an iOS device is that you are no longer using it. It’s possible that you have sold the device or restore it because you forgot the iPhone passcode.
Please note that when you disable the Find My iPhone on a device, it will be removed from the Devices list and the activation lock will also be turned off (on iOS 8 or newer).
Usually, you disable the feature from the device itself by going to the Settings > Apple ID > iCloud > Find My iPhone. But if you no longer have the physical access to the device, you could do it remotely using Find My iPhone on iCloud.com.
First, go to Find My iPhone on iCloud.com using a desktop or laptop computer and sign in to your account with your Apple ID and password. Use the same Apple ID and password linked to the phone that you want to remove.
Then click “All Devices” on the top center of the screen and select the device that you want to remove.
A new window will appear displaying the device you selected. Ignore it and go to the next step.
You will see that on the top center of the page, the name “All Devices” has now changed to the name of the selected device. Click this name, and a list of the devices will drop down again. This time you will see an “x” to the right of the selected device. Click the “x.”
You will be asked for confirmation whether you really want to delete the device. Click Remove and you are done. All your content is deleted, and someone else can now activate the device.
If the device is offline, the remote erase begins the next time it’s online. You will receive an email when the device is erased. Any credit or debit cards set up for Apple Pay on your device are removed from your device if you erase it, even if it’s offline. Apple Pay is also disabled for your device.
Security is only one of the many things that you should consider for your iPhone. To do that you can use the help from Tenorshare iCareFone Cleaner, it can help you remove sensitive data, personal information and deleted files will be erased beyond recovery.