This App is No Longer Shared with You in iOS 13.5, Fix It Now
by Sophie Green Updated on 2020-05-27 / Update for iPhone Fix
After iOS 13.5 update, I'm getting the error message that This app is no longer shared with you when opening several apps. When I follow the prompt to the app's App Store page, the only option is to open which just puts me back into the same loop. How to fix it?”
iOS updates are supposed to fix the existing bugs on your iPhone and bring you new features. However, sometimes they bring with themselves some bugs as well. One of the bugs or issues you could face after updating your device is the “this app is no longer shared with you” error message.
When this error occurs on your iPhone, it basically prevents you from using the apps on your device. When you tap on an app to launch it, you get the aforementioned error message and it just brings you back to where you were. Even if you head over to the App Store, you are sent back to the same app with the same error message.
Fortunately, there are a few fixes available to this issue. You can apply this to your device and see if the issue gets resolved.
- Part 1. How to Fix "This app is no longer shared with you" Error in iOS 13.5
- Part 2. How to Backup the Social App Data Before You Delete Them
Part 1. How to Fix "This app is no longer shared with you" Error in iOS 13.5
There are a couple of things you can do to fix the iPhone this app is no longer shared with you issue on your device. You can either offload the app from your device or you can uninstall the app. We show how to do both of those methods below.
1. Offload the App that Not Opening
If you are having trouble opening an app on your iPhone, the best thing to do is to offload it on your device. What offloading basically does is it removes the app storage from your phone but keeps your data.
It is a good way to fix faulty apps without having to delete your important data with them. The following shows how to offload apps on an iPhone.
Open the Settings app and tap on General followed by iPhone Storage.
You will see a list of all the apps available on your device. Tap on the app you are having issues with and it will open.
On the following screen, you will see two options. Tap on the option that says Offload App to offload the app from your device without deleting its data.
Your issue should likely be fixed.
2. Delete the App That's not Working and Reinstall It
If offloading the app did not fix the issue for you, another thing you can do to resolve the apps this app is no longer shared with you issue is to reinstall the app. You need to first remove the app from your device and then reinstall it from the iOS App Store.
Keep in mind that this will delete all the app data including your logins, cache files, saved games, and so on. If you do not mind deleting your data, the following is how you perform this method on your iPhone.
Tap and hold on the app you want to uninstall and select the X icon.
Tap on Delete in the prompt that appears on your screen to delete the app from your iPhone.
- Open the App Store, search for the app you deleted, and download it to your device.
Your app should work once it is reinstalled on your iPhone.
Video Guide: How to Fix "This app is no longer shared with you" error on iPhone/iPad iOS 13.5
Part 2. How to Backup the Social App Data Before You Delete Them
If you are getting WhatsApp this app is no longer shared with you error, then that means there is an issue with the WhatsApp app on your phone. Dealing with such issues in social apps is a big headache as you may lose all of your chats and other data in these apps. However, there is an app to help you out with it.
Enter Tenorshare iCareFone, an app that allows you to backup the data of your social apps including WhatsApp, Kik, Viber, and Tango before you uninstall them on your device. Once a backup is created, you can reinstall the apps on your phone. Then, you can reinstall the backup and that will bring all your chats back to your device.
- Free to backup your iPhone data including WhatsApp, Kik, Viber, and Tango.
- Selectively backup specific files to your computer.
- One click to restore wanted data to iPhone.
- Preview files before restoring them on your device.
- Compatible with latest iOS 13.5/iPadOS and iPhone SE(2nd)/11/11 Pro(Max) and more.
The following is how you use this app to backup and restore your social apps data.
- Download and install the app on your computer. Connect your iPhone to your computer and launch the app.
Click on Backup & Restore in the app.
Select the social apps you want to backup the data for and click on Backup.
The backup will soon be completed.
- You can now reinstall the app on your iPhone.
To restore your social apps data, click on Backup & Restore in the app, select your backup, and click on View.
Click on the files you want to restore and select Restore to Device.
It will restore your chat histories and other data of your social apps on your iPhone. The backup and restore feature is an extremely useful feature that lets you backup many types of content from your iPhone and restore it whenever needed.
That's all about how to fix "This app is no longer shared with you" error on iOS 13.5. And there are some users complained that "This happens not only in apps but even when I want to share photos, files, etc. It shows loading circle and nothing happens." They can't share any file after iOS 13.5 update. This seems to be an iOS 13.5 problem, you can either reinstall iOS or wait for Apple's following update and see if there is a fix.
FAQs on “This App is No Longer Shared” Error
1. Why I get "This app is no longer shared with you" error when opening app?
The "This app is no longer shared with you" error can appear after an iOS update or occur on iOS devices if the app was originally purchased by another family member and shared with you via Family Sharing.
2. How do you fix this app is no longer shared with you?
You can fix "This app is no longer shared with you" error by offloading app. Go to Settings > General > iPhone Storage > Scroll down to the App with the problem > Tap on the App Name > Tap on Offload App.
3. Does offloading app delete the data?
No, offloading an app does not delete any data. It lets you redownload your app without deleting your saved data.