[Must Read] Does Recovery Mode Delete Everything iPhone on iOS 14 Beta

by Sophie Green   Updated on 2020-08-06 / Update for  iPhone Tips

If you use recovery mode to restore your iPhone will it delete your photos?"

If you are going to use the recovery mode on your iPhone in iOS 14, you might want to find out does recovery mode delete everything iPhone. This is important as one step can wipe off everything that you have ever stored on your iOS-based device. This guide talks about what recovery mode does when you use it on your iPhone.

There are many misconceptions about the iOS recovery mode and here we aim to clear the confusion for you. You will learn what happens when the recovery mode is used, how you can fix your device without losing data, and so on.

What Is Recovery Mode and What It is Used For?

What is iOS recovery mode? Does entering recovery mode delete everything iPhone? Like your Windows computer, the recovery mode in iOS allows you to recover your device from many unwanted situations. This includes some serious errors like when your iPhone stays on the Apple logo screen and will not move past that.

does recovery mode delete everything iphone

In situations like these, you can use the recovery mode and restore your iPhone. This should restore your device if you could not do that in the normal mode.

Case 1. Restore iPhone Recovery Mode with iTunes: All Data Will be Erased from Your iPhone

Does recovery mode delete everything on iPhone? If you try to restore iPhone in recovery mode with iTunes, then all of the data stored on your phone will be deleted. You will then be able to set up your iPhone as a new device or restore it from a backup. But all your data will be gone during the restoration process.

If you would still like to proceed with restoring your iPhone in recovery mode using iTunes, the following steps will help you do that.

  • Reboot your iPhone into the recovery mode. The steps for doing this vary with the iPhone model that you have. Make sure your iPhone is connected to your computer.

    iPhone 8 or later: press the Volume Up key and let it go, press the Volume Down key and let it go, press and hold down the Side button.

    iPhone 7 or 7 Plus: press the Volume Down and Top (Side) keys at the same time.

    iPhone 6S or earlier: press and hold down the Home and Side (Top) keys at the same time.

  • You will get a prompt in iTunes on your computer. Click on Restore to restore your iPhone and delete all the data on it.

    does recovery mode delete everything on iphone

Your iPhone should now be restored in recovery mode. Now that you know the answer to does iPhone recovery mode delete everything which yes. No matter what, iTunes will wipe off your data if you use it to restore your iPhone.

Case 2. Restore iPhone Recovery Mode with ReiBoot: No Data Loss at All

Does iPhone recovery mode delete everything? Instead of using iTunes, you can use Tenorshare ReiBoot that lets you restore iPhone in recovery mode without any data loss. Not only does it help you restore your device but it fixes many of the issues on it as well. You can use the app to quit the recovery mode as well on your iPhone.

1. One click to Exit Recovery Mode without Data Loss

One of ReiBoot’s features helps you exit the stuck recovery mode on your iPhone. You can use it as follows.

  • Download and install the software on your machine. Launch the software and connect your iPhone to your computer via a USB cable.
  • On the main screen of the software, click on the option that says Exit Recovery Mode.

    does iphone recovery mode delete everything
  • The software will try to get your iPhone out of the recovery mode. You will see the following when your iPhone has exited the recovery mode.

    does entering recovery mode delete everything iphone

Your iPhone should reboot in normal mode.

2. Restore iPhone in Recovery Mode without Data Loss

If a simply click isn’t work, you can use ReiBoot to restore iPhone in recovery mode thus to get rid of all iOS related issues like iPhone stays on Apple logo, iPhone screen goes black randomly. You can use the software as follows to restore your iOS device without losing any data.

  • Connect your iPhone to your computer and click on Repair Operating System in the software.

    does restoring iphone in recovery mode delete everything
  • Click on Fix Now on the screen that follows.

    does iphone recovery mode erase everything
  • Hit Download and it will download the firmware for your iOS device.

    does recovery mode erase everything on iphone
  • Allow it to repair your iPhone. The following will appear on your screen when your iPhone is fixed.

    does recovery mode erase everything iphone

Conclusion

By now, you should know the answer to does restoring iPhone in recovery mode delete everything. The answer depends on what tool you used to restore iPhone in recovery mode. If you don’t want to lost any data, Tenorshare ReiBoot is perfect for you to restore iPhone in recovery mode without iTunes. We hope our guide helps you out.

FAQS on iPhone Recovery Mode

1. What happens when iPhone is in recovery mode?

When your iPhone is in recovery mode, nothing actually happens until you choose either restore or update option in the iTunes app on your computer. It then either restores or updates your iPhone in recovery mode.

2. Will recovery mode erase everything iPhone?

Recovery mode erases everything on the iPhone if you use iTunes to restore your device. With tools like ReiBoot, your files are safe and they do not get deleted when you restore your phone.

3. How do I know if my iPhone is in recovery mode?

You will see a cable and a computer icon on your iPhone’s screen if your iPhone is in recovery mode. You will also see a link to the Apple website at the top of your iPhone’s screen.

  Updated on 2020-08-06 / Update for  iPhone Tips

(Click to rate this post)

(0 votes, average: 5.0 out of 5 )

Join the discussion and share your voice here