How to Disable Screen Time on iPhone/iPad without Passcode

"How do I turn off screen time if I forgot the passcode?"

If you have enabled the Screen Time feature on your iPhone or iPad, your device will ask you to input your passcode each time you want to access the Screen Time feature on your device. Many times it happens that you forget the passcode as you have not used the feature for a long time. If this has happened to you and you wish to learn how to disable Screen Time without a passcode, the following guide will help you out.

In the guide, you are going to find the methods that will help you turn off Screen Time on your iPhone or iPad without requiring you to enter a passcode. You have multiple methods to follow and it is completely up to you to decide what method you would like to go ahead with. Each method has a unique approach so it is you - the user - who has to decide what is suitable for him or her.

Let's get started:

Method 1. Reset All Content and Settings

This one is the most easiest one to perform. What you are going to do in this method is erase all the contents on your device and reset your device. By doing so, you are erasing your Screen Time passcode as well which means the feature will not ask you to enter a passcode in the future.

However, be advised that this method will erase everything you have on your iPhone or iPad. Also, you will not be able to use your old backups as those will have your passcode in them and restoring them will put you in the same situation as you are in currently.

Step 1. Open the Settings app from the springboard of your iPhone or iPad.

Step 2. When the Settings app opens, tap on the option that says General. Then, scroll down and tap on the Reset option on the screen that follows.

Step 3. On the reset screen, you will find multiple options you can select. Tap on the option that says Erase All Content and Settings to start resetting your device.

reset all settings of iphone

Follow the prompts shown on your device's screen to proceed with erasing and resetting your device. When your device is fully reset, you need to set it up as a new device.

Method 2. Remove Screen Time Passcode and then Disable It (No Data Loss)

If you would like to keep your data on your devices while you disable the Screen Time feature without a passcode, this section will teach you how to do it.

In this section, what you are going to do is you are going to first remove the passcode from your device. Once that is done, you will then disable the feature as you would normally do. This way you will have turned off the Screen Time feature without entering a passcode on your device.

Let's check out how to delete Screen Time passcode and then disable the feature on your iPhone or iPad:

1. Remove Screen Time Passcode

In order to remove the Screen Time passcode from your device, you are going to use a software called Tenorshare 4uKey-iTunes Backup. The software allows iOS users to remove Screen Time passcodes from your iPhone and iPad devices, no data loss at all

Let's check out how you can perform the task using the aforementioned software:

Step 1. Download and launch the software on your computer. Plug-in your iPhone to your computer and tap on Trust in the prompt on your iPhone. Turn off the Find My iPhone feature if it is turned on using the instructions in the following image.

Step 2. From the main interface of the software, click on the option that says Remove Screen Time Passcode to start the passcode removal process.

open

Step 3. Your iPhone or iPad model number will be displayed on the following screen. Click on Start to continue.

start

Step 4. A progress bar will appear when the software is removing the passcode from your device. When the passcode is removed from your device, you will see the following message on your screen.

removed

The Screen Time passcode has been successfully removed from your iPhone or iPad.

2. Turn Off Screen Time on iPhone/iPad

Now that the passcode is removed, you can easily disable the Screen Time feature on your iPhone or iPad using the following instructions.

Step 1. Launch the Settings app on your device and tap on Screen Time to open the feature panel.

Step 2. When the Screen Time panel opens, scroll all the way down and tap on Turn Off Screen Time.

Step 3. Tap on Turn Off Screen Time once again in the prompt on your screen to disable the feature.

turn off screen time

Conclusion

If you are not a big fan of the Screen Time feature on your iPhone or iPad, the above guide should teach you how to get rid of Screen Time feature from your device. We hope it helps you deactivate the feature on your device. And you can enable Screen Time on your iPhone/iPad anytime you want.

Updated on / Posted by Anna Sherry to Screen Time Follow @Anna Sherry

Was this helpful ?
Yes
No
Join the discussion and share your voice here