iPhone Tips

How to Erase Data in Old iPhone before Selling

Technical product are quick in updating, and this is especially so for Apple products. Only with few years, iPhone went from version 1 to version 6s/SE. News are prevalent that version 7 is approaching. Thus, many customers may face the problem to equip a new iPhone but also want to sell the old ones.

The problem is: how do you deal with the data in your old iPhone? Research has been repeatedly saying that data security is a big risk in modern society and individual customers are confronting a big challenge of privacy disclosure. Due to that, this essay would like to suggest a few ways to erase or wipe your old iPhone before you sell it.

Things You Need to Know before Action

  • Please note that you shouldn't manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photo streams, or any other iCloud data while you're signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID.
  • Back up all your data.
  • Remember to remove the SIM card.
  • Log out of services like email and social media.

Launch The Deleting Party

After making sure that you have finished all of the things in the reminder, you may join me on a deleting party, which can easily achieved by following the steps one by one.

1. Start with Find My iPhone. Do this by heading to Settings >iCloud> Find My iPhone. Enter your Apple ID password when prompted.

2: Sign out of iCloud completely. Go to Settings >iCloud and find Sign Out at the bottom of the page. For iOS 7 devices or higher versions iOS 9.3/9, choose Delete Account.

3: Turn off and sign out of other services including iMessage and Apple ID.

  • For iMessage, go to Settings > Messages > toggle the iMessage option.
  • For Apple ID, go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > tap your Apple ID email address and then Sign Out.
  • By the way, you may also want to sign out individually of any other linked services and apps, such as Facebook or Twitter.

4. Start the wipe process. Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Confirm the selection.

After all these steps, all data on your iPhone will be permanently erased and you can’t recover them anymore. So make sure you have backed up important iPhone data before erasing.

Free Download For Win 10/8.1/8/7/XP
Secure Download
Free Download For macOS 10.13 and below
Secure Download

/ Posted by Jenefey Aaron to iPhone Data Follow @Jenefey Aaron